Father’s Day Gift Guide for the Adventurous Dad

Father’s Day is less than two weeks out, so it’s about time to get the dad in your life a little something to show him that he’s THE MAN. As a dad who enjoys being adventurous outside, I think I’ve got a little insight as to what he might like. So we’ve compiled a list, at various price points, to show Dad that he’s loved, and you want to keep adventuring with him.

* We have no affiliation with any of these brands, and haven’t been offered anything in return for this post. These are just items that I have and enjoy, and I think your adventurous dad would enjoy them too.

Arcade Belt – $26

Arcade-Belt-Co_Blackwood-Green-Navy-1320-10-1-792x375

Don’t let Dad get caught with his pants down! Sorry, I just had to use that line. I love these belts – they have a ton of playful, adventurous designs and the buckle is easier to navigate than your typical belt. You’re sure to find a design that will make him smile, and keep his pants up.

Bluffworks Pants – $98

Bluffworks Pants

I got my first pair of these in gray this past Christmas, and I love them! They’re probably the most comfortable pants I’ve ever worn. They stretch, have hidden pockets all over, AND you hardly have to wash them. They’re dressy enough to wear to the boardroom (really, that’s not a line – they’re really nice looking slacks), but durable enough to wear on the trails. They have a really good sale going on now on some older styles, too.

RTIC Cooler – $125-$200

RTIC Cooler

My dad got a Yeti Cooler as a Christmas gift from his boss a few years ago, and it’s an amazing cooler. If you’re like us and can’t afford to drop $400 on an ice chest, take a look at the RTIC Coolers. We love ours, and I can’t tell the difference between the two, but our bank account really appreciated the price.

Salomon X Ultra Mid II GTX Hiking Boots – $165

Salomon Boots

I bought these boots about a year ago and have worn them on every hike since. These aren’t just comfortable for hiking boots, they’re comfortable for sneakers! The waterproof membrane will keep you dry as long as the water isn’t over your ankles. They don’t offer great ankle support, and the soles are softer than most, but I haven’t had any issues with them at all. I love how light they are – I feel like I can practically run, even when I’m carrying my pack. Order a size up so his toes won’t get crushed when coming down the mountain.

Casio G-Shock Watch – Various Price Points

G Shock Watch

In the age of smart watches, smart phones and tablets, there’s something to be said about the simplicity of a Casio G-Shock watch. I have one in olive, and I wear it everywhere – mine’s water resistant to 20 meters, so I never have to take it off. You can pretty much spend as much, or as little, as you want on one of these, but Pops will love not having to learn how to operate this rugged watch.

Leatherman/Gerber Multitool – Various Price Points

Leatherman Multitool

“If all you have is a hammer, everything looks like a nail.” Well, this isn’t a hammer, but I think that applies here. I never knew how much I would use one of these until I got one. Need to open a beer? Got it. Need to open that Amazon box? Got it. Need to tighten the door knob on the kitchen cabinet? Got it. Before you know it, he’ll have it clipped on his belt, next to his cell phone, and his dad look will be completed.*

*Dad jokes not included.

QALO Ring – $25

QALO Ring

This one holds a place especially close to my heart. Mandy got me a beautiful wedding band that I absolutely love. And I lost it when I jumped off a cliff the Devil’s Waterhole at Inks Lake. I was pretty heartbroken. Then, Mandy surprised me with one of these. I’ve actually gotten more compliments on this rubber ring, than my previous one, which was made from recycled beach wood. I don’t have to take it off to workout, and when we were hiking in Big Bend my fingers started to swell, but because it’s rubber, I didn’t have to take it off then either. It’s the perfect ring for Dad to wear when he’s doing anything outside and doesn’t want to risk losing his “main” ring.

REI Flex Lite Chair – $80

Flex Lite Chair

This little chair has been a life-saver. Well, maybe a butt-saver is more accurate. It packs down super small – it fits in the side netting of my pack and is super light (1 lb, 2 oz.) It works great for backpacking, concerts, or even the kids’ soccer game. Dad, and his butt, will thank you.

Jetboil Flash Cooking System – $70-$100

Jetboil

Our kids love this as much as I do. It’s so small that you forget about it in your pack, but it boils water in under 2 minutes (we’ve timed it). You can also buy an attachment that will turn it into a french press so that Dad can still have his coffee out in the wilderness, because we all know he HAS to have his coffee!

National Park T-Shirt

RMNP Shirt

Has Dad been to all 59 National Parks? What about one or two? If he’s like us, then that memory will stick with him for a lifetime. Why not remind him of the great times he had with a t-shirt from his favorite park? I prefer the ones from Homage (listed here) for their stylish simplicity and the comfort of their shirts, but pick up one wherever you can from one of the parks he’s been to and up his dad-style a few points.

We would REALLY recommend you take the adventurous Dad on a hike, to a park or camping, but if you can’t do that, bring the outdoors to him with one of these gifts!

Leave a Reply

